ferrofu.blogg.se

Video cards for 4k monitors
Video cards for 4k monitors







video cards for 4k monitors
  1. Video cards for 4k monitors upgrade#
  2. Video cards for 4k monitors Pc#
  3. Video cards for 4k monitors series#

One thing you could try before spending big bucks on a graphics card upgrade would be to disable hyper-threading to see if that helps at all. Normally we'd suggest turning off the GPU Processor option in LR Preferences, but in reality you need it for that 4k monitor. However, the screen greying out or pixelating when changing modules doesn't sound good, and certainly sounds GPU-related. TBH, I'm a little surprised at the thought that the 960 can't handle a 4k monitor, it's still not exactly a lightweight (I have one myself in my Win10 system, but not using a 4k monitor). Settings Folder: C:\Users\Stephen Coppinger\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Lightroom Library Path: F:\Lightroom Catalogue\Main Catalog SWVC-2-2.lrcat LanguageVersion: 3.30 NVIDIA via Cg compilerĪpplication folder: C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Lightroom Input types: Multitouch: No, Integrated touch: No, Integrated pen: No, External touch: No, External pen: No, Keyboard: No System DPI setting: 144 DPI (high DPI mode) Maximum thread count used by Camera Raw: 8Ĭamera Raw SIMD optimization: SSE2,AVX,AVX2 Virtual memory used by Lightroom: 531.1 MB Real memory used by Lightroom: 579.3 MB (1.7%) Real memory available to Lightroom: 32709.8 MB I remain very interested in your opinion your opinion and others reading the forum. Of course, I am asking for opinions and understand that they are just that, and not tablets handed down from the Mount! But I am not well-heeled enough just to go and base my pretty good graphics card without something more than a feeling. I suspect that the increase in processing power of the newer cards, designed specifically for 4K screens, will improve lightroom. I suspect that photographers will increasingly be using 4K screens, so this maybe a question that other photographers will be asking. I invested in a 4K screen as my old screen basically died and I wanted to future proof myself. The 1060, which is a cutdown version of the 1070 is pretty fast too! The new GTX 1070 is 50% more powerful than that the 'legendary'GTX 970, which is in turn much faster than my 960 (essentially a cutdown version of that card, I understand).

Video cards for 4k monitors series#

The new generation of 10 series Nvidia cards are much better than the previous versions, using less power and being more powerful. The Adobe recommendations are pretty conservative and fairly old, it seems to me. I also have included the rundown on my system via help in lightroom. But it does seem that the graphics side of things does also struggle, with the screen either greying out or pixelating when I try to refresh the image (for instance changing from developed to library modes). I understand from your (very clear) explanations that part of this is the iterations that lightroom goes through when you have made a number of changes to an image in the same session. When I'm doing an editing session and it goes on for a while the edit slows down considerably. It is indeed worth asking what is specifically slow. I'm writing late in the evening, as usual. I have been busy implementing all of the excellent advice in Victoria's recent publications on optimising LR - a great resource.

video cards for 4k monitors

I would be grateful for some advice (and my pockets are not deep enough to go out and get a new graphics card without good reason. Given that more 4k monitors are appearing, I suspect this may be an increasingly common question. The simple question is, would upgrading to a newer card, one of the 10 series, produce a useful improvement? If so, do I need to go for a (more expensive) 1070 or 1080 or would the (relatively) less expensive 1060 do the trick? I have a Geforce GTX 960m, which is a pretty good card. It has recently dawned on me that one of the major issues may be the upgrade to a 4k monitor (duh, I hear you all crying).

Video cards for 4k monitors Pc#

It cleared out the bank but the images are great, so much so that a professional photographer mate of mine (and mentor) brings stuff over to view on it.īut my copy of LR (2015.7) can run alarmingly slowly, especially as I have a well-specced PC with 32GB of Ram (an i7-4770 running at 3.5Ghz). I recently upgraded my monitor to a lovely, wonderful etc, etc Dell UP3216Q, which runs natively at 3840x2160 (i.e. I know some of this has been covered before but I need some further advice.









Video cards for 4k monitors